The IIRB has about 350 members from 23 beet growing countries.

The IIRB is administered by an Administrative Council (AC) consisting of representatives from Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Sweden and The Netherlands. The President of the IIRB is elected for a period of two years among the members of the AC. The AC is assisted by the Secretary General and relies on the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) for advice on scientific matters. Eight study groups are working under the auspices of the Scientific Advisory Committee. Their aims are to exchange information between specialists on topical subject matters and to provide a network for carrying out joint technical and scientific research projects.

Organisation chart